Los Angeles & Orange County Car Accident Attorney
Being involved in a car accident can have serious and prolonged consequences both physically and financially. As a result, you could be stuck with medical bills with no way to pay them off if you’re too injured to return to work. At this point, you need to speak with a Los Angeles personal injury attorney to learn about your legal rights and options.
Oaktree Law is a highly-esteemed law firm serving clients throughout Los Angeles and Orange County and we pride ourselves on looking out for our clients needs first. We have considerable experience helping our clients navigate the injury claim process and fighting to obtain the financial settlement they need to cover their losses.
“What should I do after a car accident?”
Your first step should be to dial 911 if you or your passengers have sustained serious injuries.
Call the police if the property damage is more substantial than a fender-bender. If police do arrive, make sure you obtain a copy of the police report.
Write down the contact information (names, addresses, phone numbers) and driver’s license numbers from all other drivers involved.
Take down the contact information of any witnesses and passengers involved.
Using your phone’s camera, take plenty of pictures of the damage to both vehicles, the position of the cars, and the scene of the accident.
Inform your insurance agency of the accident right away.
If there is more than $750.00 worth of damage to the vehicle, or if anyone is hurt, you need to let the DMV know within 10 days or risk having your driver’s license suspended.
What NOT to do After a Car Accident
Don’t argue with other drivers or passengers. You can give your version of the events to the police, your insurance company, and your car accident attorney.
Do not sign anything having to do with assigning fault for the accident or obligations to pay for the damage.
If the at-fault party offers to pay your deductible, don’t sign anything which might release them from any further obligation.
“How does liability work in California?”
The question of who will be held responsible for the car accident is of paramount importance. As a “comparative negligence” state, California may require you to pay for a portion of the accident depending on your share of the blame. In essence, your compensation will be reduced depending on your contribution to the accident.
This makes it all the more imperative that you consult with a skilled Orange County car accident attorney from Oaktree Law to fight on your behalf and obtain the maximum compensation possible.
You could be financially compensated for the following through a successfully claim:
- Past and future medical bills
- Repairs to your vehicle
- At-home care
- Loss of consortium
- Lost wages from work
- Pain and suffering
It is important to bear in mind that California permits you only two years to file a car accident claim for your injuries before the statute of limitations expires and you will be unable to bring a suit. This means time is of the essence: while it may seem like a long time, the claims process is highly complex, and the other side will likely try and prolong the process as much as possible.
For this reason, you need to reach out to an Orange County car accident lawyer form Oaktree Law as soon as you can to begin putting a strong case together on your behalf.
Call us after a car accident to get the legal advice you need: (562) 219-2979!